The University of Alberta, also known as the U of A, was founded in 1908 as a public research institute in Edmonton, Alberta.

The U of A has consistently ranked between 4th and 6th place in Canada according to various world ranking bodies, and many of the school’s programs have accomplished great things and gained prominence as being amongst the best worldwide – for example, Hospitality Management studies at U of A is ranked at 38th in the world.

The 18 faculties at U of A include:

  • The Faculty of Agriculture, Life and Environmental Sciences

  • The Faculty of Arts

  • The Alberta School of Business

  • The Faculty of Education

  • The Faculty of Engineering

  • The Faculty of Extension

  • The Faculty of Graduate Studies and Research

  • The Faculty of Law

  • The Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry

  • The Faculty of Nursing

  • The Faculty of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences

  • The Faculty of Kinesiology, Sports and Recreation

  • The Faculty of Rehabilitation Medicine

  • The School of Public Health

  • The School of Sciences

  • The Faculty of Native Studies

  • The Augustana Campus, which comprises the departments of Physical Education, Humanities, Fine Arts, Science and Social Science

  • The campus of Saint-Jean, which is a Francophone faculty with programs such as Education, Fine Arts and Languages, and Social Science

All admission requirements can be found on the school’s website here: